a division of Planex Srl
Close this search box.

LEED® - Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design

Voluntary LEED® certification is one of the most widespread systems at the international level for building sustainability

It applies to any type of building or indoor space and assesses aspects that concern the design phase, construction and, in some cases, operation and maintenance.
This protocol proposes an integrated approach to environmental sustainability, assessing aspects of occupants’ well-being, such as comfort and indoor air quality.

It is structured into nine categories, each consisting of prerequisites and credits.
– The prerequisites in each category are mandatory as they set minimum requirements that must be met.
– The credits can be chosen according to the features of the project. The level of certification obtained is given from the sum of points related to the credits.
There are four levels of certification: Certified (40 to 49 points), Silver (50 to 59 points), Gold (60 to 79 points) and Platinum (over 80 points).
Prerequisites and credits are divided into the following categories: Integrative process, Location and transposition, Sustainable Site, Water Efficiency, Energy and Atmosphere, Materials and Resources, Indoor Environmental Quality, Innovation, and Regional Priority.

LEED® Zero Program

LEED® Zero is a complementary certification system alongside LEED® certification.

It can be applied to LEED®-certified projects with ratings “Building Design and Construction” or “Operation and Maintenance”, or projects registered for “Operation and Maintenance” LEED® certification. These projects can supplement their LEED® certification with one or more of the following LEED® Zero certifications (they can also be pursued simultaneously):

  • LEED® Zero Carbon: rewards buildings that have operated with zero carbon emissions over the past year;
  • LEED® Zero Energy: rewards buildings that achieve a zero energy use balance over the past year;
  • LEED® Zero Water: rewards buildings that have achieved a zero water use balance in the past year;
  • LEED® Zero Waste: rewards buildings that have achieved a TRUE Zero Waste certification by reaching the Platinum level.

The TRUE Zero Waste certification rewards the achievement of a “zero waste” policy. It encourages and rewards adopting practices such as responsible management of the resources used and reducing the waste produced, positively affecting the overall environmental and economic impact of the building.

LEED® Zero certification is valid for three years.

Recertification of LEED® buildings

With the release of version 4.1, LEED® allows all projects already certified, occupied and in use to renew their certification.

The recertification process encourages project teams to monitor the energy-environmental performance of their buildings and demonstrate that they are functioning as intended even after they have been constructed and occupied.

For recertification, data from the last 12 months must be collected and uploaded to the LEEDOnline portal for the five performance categories: energy, water, transport, waste and human experience. The portal will automatically calculate the performance score for each category and determine the building’s overall LEED® score.

To be recertified, projects must obtain a minimum score of 40 points.

Recertification is valid for three years.

Fai la tua DOMANDA!